Looking to play some video games on your day off? Better sign in at least once between now and Monday.

Yesterday a member of the European PlayStation Community tweeted that there would be PSN maintenance on Easter Monday, only to promptly delete this tweet. Now, it has been confirmed that they are indeed pulling a dumb move and scheduling maintenance on a holiday.

Here’s the official notice from the PlayStation Forums;

“We wanted to take a moment to inform you of a network maintenance, currently scheduled for Monday, April 21st from 9:50 AM to 3:50 PM Pacific Time (12:50 PM to 6:50 PM Eastern Time, or 5:50 PM to 11:50 PM BST). We expect this maintenance to last approximately 6 hours.

If you’ve signed in to the network any time since April 16th you will be able to play games online and access partner apps such as Netflix during this maintenance period. The PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home and Account Management will not be available during this time, and users may receive a maintenance notification when attempting to access these services.

We thank you for your patience and support and apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.”

Though it’s nice to see that they’re actually performing maintenance regularly on the PSN, their timing leaves a lot to be desired; anyone getting a PlayStation Network card or looking to play some fresh games that day will surely be out of luck for a good portion of it, a bad move on Sony’s part for sure.

What do you think of the timing of this maintenance? Let us know in the comments.

  • Buckybuckster

    Yo Kyle! It’s been awhile!

    I could never understand why these maintenance periods aren’t scheduled during overnight/early morning hours when usage is at it’s lowest. True it’s not much of an issue if you log in between now and the maintenance, but like you’ve said, those who have received new systems or PSN cards for the holiday will find themselves up the creek without a paddle so to speak…. for 6 hours at least.