A post on the PlayStation forums has given us a bit of warning regarding some upcoming PlayStation Network maintenance.

This Thursday we’re getting some “back end improvements” to the network, with maintenance scheduled for the following times;

  • Europe; 5:00PM to 8:30PM GMT
  • North America; 9:00AM Pacific / 12:00PM Eastern to 12:30PM Pacific / 3:30PM Eastern

While maintenance is scheduled for ~3.5 hours, it’s also worth noting that the European forum post mentions that “[t]here may be some additional downtime after the maintenance period for testing purposes.”

“So what if I want to use my Vita during maintenance?” you may ask?

Well, if you’ve signed in to the network recently you’ll be able to play games online and access partner apps such as Netflix – however, the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home and Account Management will not be available during this time.

Now you know, so prepare as necessary!

  • Rodolfo Ferreira

    This is getting old, it won’t be the last time we’ll ever see these upcoming maintenance notes. My games offer much fun on single player (Unit 13, Ragnarok Odyssey ACE, and more) so I’m well prepared.
    What I might not be prepared for and really scares me is the next day: February 13. Rumors say sony will be hosting an event to talk about stuff. It’s not clear whether that’s Vita-related stuff but the team at Vita Boys posted a YT video telling us they’ve received an invitation.
    So why would they receive it from sony if it wasn’t Vita related? I think that could be an official announcement for the features the Vita will no longer have and will be removed.
    You can’t expect anything GOOD from sony when it comes to the Vita’s sake.

    • It was an MVP invitation, every single PlayStation MVP got one. I hardly see the need to read into that, especially when it’s not Vita specific at all.