Help Me Learn Japanese, Vita-kun!

Discussion in 'Off Topic Lounge' started by bss, Sep 23, 2016.

1. bss

bss Well-Known Member

Hello everyone!

I thought it'd be a good idea to make a topic on one of the things I've had on-again, off-again motivation to do for years: finally learning Japanese. I've picked up miscellaneous words and phrases from all sorts of sources, and have the kana generally down, but I still have to think about verb forms, generally, and my overall vocabulary and kanji recognition is abysmal.

So, I thought I'd see if there were any like-minded people who are trying to learn Japanese, and are using games (especially the Vita) to help it along. If anyone has any interest, experience, or guidance along these lines, I'd love to see it. Maybe this thread can become where we combine efforts among kindred spirits.

I'll start things off with a list of games I've had some experience with, though I certainly welcome more thoughts and suggestions. I have a fair amount of games I've started trying to learn with, but I'm not yet at the point that I can really recognize easy from hard (because all of it's hard). If I get a bunch of help (or, with any luck, experience), I want to organize this by difficulty or recommendation or something. But for now, on to the games!

Vita Games
    • AKB 1/149 Renai Sousenkyo - dating sim featuring the idols of AKB48 and their related acts. Simple dating sim, essentially fully voiced, and the kanji isn't hard at all. (Thanks Akros)
    • Ciel nosurge Offline - raising sim precursor to Ar nosurge. Seems jargon heavy, but again, ┐(ツ)┌ it's not like I know the difference.
    • Ebikore + Amagami - dating sim with a variety of personalities and paths. Text may be difficult, but it was (fully?) voiced and you can replay voices in the log, which helps lots.
    • Girls und Panzer - schoolgirls in a tank combat club. Been a while since I played it, but the vocabulary didn't seem to be the hardest.